312 pages

English language

Published Aug. 28, 2005 by Tor Books.

ISBN:
978-0-7653-4821-0
Copied ISBN!
OCLC Number:
61678826

View on OpenLibrary

No rating (0 reviews)

A bold fantasy in the tradition of Roger Zelazny's Chronicles of Amber, The Merchant Princes is a sweeping new series from the hottest new writer in science fiction!

Miriam Beckstein is happy in her life. She's a successful reporter for a hi-tech magazine in Boston, making good money doing what she loves. When her researcher brings her iron-clad evidence of a money-laundering scheme, Miriam thinks she's found the story of the year. But when she takes it to her editor, she's fired on the spot and gets a death threat from the criminals she has uncovered.

Before the day is over, she's received a locket left by the mother she never knew-the mother who was murdered when she was an infant. Within is a knotwork pattern, which has a hypnotic effect on her. Before she knows it, she's transported herself to a parallel Earth, a world where knights on horseback …

1 edition

Subjects

  • Women journalists
  • Murder victims' families
  • Inheritance and succession
  • Fiction