The Inheritance Trilogy

includes : the Hundred Thousand Kingdoms, the Broken Kingdoms, the Kingdom of Gods, the Awakened Kingdom , #1-3.5

eBook, 1462 pages

English language

Published Dec. 9, 2014

Copied ISBN!
OCLC Number:

View on OpenLibrary

4 stars (1 review)

The Inheritance Trilogy omnibus includes the novels: The Hundred Thousand Kingdoms, The Broken Kingdoms, The Kingdom of Gods and a brand-new novella set in the same world. The Awakened Kingdom.

In this omnibus edition of N.K. Jemisin's brilliantly original award-winning fantasy series, a young woman becomes entangled in a power struggle of mythic proportions.

A REALM OF GODS AND MORTALS. Yeine Darr is an outcast from the barbarian north. But when her mother dies under mysterious circumstances, she is summoned to the majestic city of Sky. There, to her shock, Yeine is named an heiress to the king. But the throne of the Hundred Thousand Kingdoms is not easily won, and Yeine is thrust into a vicious power struggle.

1 edition

reviewed The Inheritance Trilogy by N. K. Jemisin (The Inheritance Trilogy, #1-3.5)

N. K. Jemisin is a genius, but I think you already knew that

4 stars

The worldbuilding in this is so lush, and the voices so great. Sieh was obviously my favorite character (Because Sieh is the best) though it's not like there was any narrator I particularly disliked.

There were certain parts I could tell Jemisin just loved writing, I don't know how to put it. Like, the narration in the Shrill novella, while I bet it was difficult to write, I sort of felt like she had a good time?

While I think I would recommend starting Jemisin through her short stories instead of a 1700 monolith, you do you. This is great.


  • Gods
  • Fiction
  • Fantasy fiction